South Africa Travel Visa

South African travel visa is generally given for international travelers who wish to visit the country for tourism. This travel visa is usually valid for a period of 90 days.

Who requires South Africa travel visa

Though the travel visa for South Africa is meant for all international travelers, it has certain exemptions, which are applicable as follows.

Visas Not Required

If you hold a valid passport from any of the below listed countries then you do not require travel visa to visit South Africa for a period not exceeding 90 days or when in transit:

African Union Laissez Passer, Andorra, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Portugal, San Marino,Singapore, Spain, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, Northern Ireland, British Islands Bailiwick of Guernsey and Jersey, Isle of Man and Virgin Islands, Republic of Ireland, and British Overseas Territories

In addition to the above, a short stay not exceeding 30 days is granted for the persons holding national passport of the following countries. They do not require travel visa to visit South Africa.

Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Costa Rica, Cyprus,Gabon, Guyana, Hong Kong [only with regard to holders of Hong Kong British National Overseas passports and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region passports], Hungary, Jordan, Lesotho, Macau [only with regard to holders of Macau Special Administrative Region passports (MSAR)], Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Peru, Poland, Seychelles, Slovak Republic, South Korea, Swaziland, Thailand, Turkey, Zambia and Zimbabwe [only in respect of government officials, including police on cross border investigations]

Visas Required

However if you are citizen of the following nation then you need a travel visa to visit South Africa.

British Dependent Territories, including Anguilla, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn, Henderson, St Helena, Ducie and Oeno Islands, the Sovereign Base Area of Akrotiri and Dhekelia and the Turks and Caicos Island, Uruguay, Venezuela, United States of America

Entry requirements

  • Passport valid for not less 30 days from your return date

  • If you are citizen who requires a travel visa to visit South Africa then your passport must have at least 2 unused or blank pages for affixing the visa or permit on one page and endorsement of entry/departure stamp by South African Immigration services on the other.

  • If you are citizen, who does not require a travel visa to visit South Africa then your passport must have at least one unused or blank page for the endorsement by the South African Immigration services upon your arrival.

  • Visa application duly signed by the applicant.

  • Immunization certificate if required.

  • 2 identity photographs

  • Financial proofs like bank statements, salary advices, undertakings by the host in the Republic, bursaries, medical cover, traveler's cheques that would support your living during your stay in the country.

  • Original tickets of your round trip and accommodation

Disclaimer: These pages are intended to be used as a guide only. Visa information for most countries change often without any advance notice. It is essential that you call the respective country?s embassy before you make your travel plans. Although all due care has been taken in compiling the information available in these pages, the Webmaster or publishers of the CityRound will not be held accountable under any circumstances for any errors or omissions found in these pages.

Pages from: Visa